International Rescue Committee (IRC)

IRC Board of Directors and Overseers

The International Rescue Committee is governed by a volunteer, unpaid board of directors. In addition, the IRC Overseers provide advice on policy, advocacy, fundraising and public relations.

Katherine Farley
Tracy R. Wolstencroft

Co-Chairs, Board of Directors

Timothy Geithner 
Chair, IRC Overseers

Liv Ullmann
Vice Chair, International 
Glenda Burkhart 
Gordon Smith

David Miliband
President and Chief Executive Officer
Alan Batkin
Winston Lord
Sarah O’Hagan
Thomas Schick
James Strickler
Jonathan Wiesner
Chairs, Emeriti

Board of Directors



Clifford S. Asness
Managing and Founding Principal,
AQR Capital Management

George Biddle
World Connect

Mary M. Boies
Boies & McInnis

Florence A. Davis
Starr Foundation

Susan Dentzer
The Network for Excellence in Health Innovation

Katherine Farley
Senior Managing Director Brazil, China & Global Corporate Marketing, 
Tishman Speyer 

Timothy F. Geithner
75th U.S. Secretary of the Treasury

Corydon J. Gilchrist
KCG Holdings I, LLC

John Holmes
Director, The Ditchley Foundation;
Co-Chair, Board of Directors, IRC-UK

 David A. Levine
Former Chief Economist,
Sanford C. Bernstein

François-Xavier de Mallmann
Co-Head Global Consumer Retail and Healthcare Group,
Goldman Sachs

Eduardo Mestre
Chairman of Global Advisory,
Evercore Partners

David Miliband
President and CEO,
International Rescue Committee

Thomas Nides
Vice Chairman,
Morgan Stanley






Michael J. O’Neill,
Executive Vice President, Corporate & External Affairs, American Express Company

Anjali Pant, M.D., M.P.H.

Dr. Kathleen Pike, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology, Departments of Psychiatry and Epidemiology,
Columbia University Medical Center

Omar Saeed,
Principal and Portfolio Manager, 
Hutchin Hill

Pamela Saunders-Albin

Dr. Rajiv Shah,
Founder and Managing Partner, Latitude Capital

Gordon A. Smith
Chief Executive Officer of Consumer and Community Banking,
JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Gillian Sorensen
Senior Advisor,
United Nations Foundation

Sally Susman
Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Pfizer Inc.

Mona K. Sutphen
Partner, Macro Advisory Partners LLC

Ercument Tokat
Partner, Centerview Partners

Maureen White
Senior Fellow at the Foreign Policy Institute at the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University

Nina Whitman

Tracy R. Wolstencroft
President & CEO,
Heidrick & Struggles




Morton I. Abramowitz
Senior Fellow, The Century Foundation and
President Emeritus, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Madeleine K. Albright
Chair, Albright Stonebridge Group

Laurent Alpert 
Cleary Gottlieb, Steen and Hamilton

Kofi A. Annan
President, Kofi Annan Foundation, Global Humanitarian Forum; United Nations Secretary-General

Lila Azam Zanganeh
Writer and literary critic (Le Monde, The Paris Review) 

F. William Barnett
Former Director, McKinsey & Company, Inc.

Alan R. Batkin
Chairman and CEO, Converse Associates, Inc

Christoph Becker
Chief Executive Officer and Chief Creative Officer, gyro

Georgette F. Bennett
President, Tanenbaum Center for
Inter-religious Understanding

Vera Blinken
Chair, Primavera Mobil Mammography Program; Vice Chair, Foundation of Art Preservation in Embassies; Co-Chair, Blinken European Institute/Columbia University

Betsy Blumenthal
Senior Managing Director, Kroll Associates

W. Michael Blumenthal
Former Secretary of the US Treasury and Founding Director of Jewish Museum Berlin

Andrew H. Brimmer
Joele Frank, Wilkinson, Brimmer, Katcher

Jennifer Brokaw, M.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine, University of California, San Francisco

Tom Brokaw
Special Correspondent, NBC News

Glenda K. Burkhart
General Management Consultant

Frederick Burkle, M.D.
Senior International Public Policy; Scholar at Woodrow Wilson; International Center for Scholars

Nestor Carbonell
Former Vice President for International Public Affairs, PepsiCo

Jeremy Carver

Robert M. Cotten

Trinh D. Doan
Senior Vice President, 
Bank of America

Jodie Eastman
Member; Leadership Council, New York Stem Cell Foundation

H.R.H. Princess Firyal of Jordan

Kenneth R. French
Carl E. and Catherine M. Heidt, Professor of Finance at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College

Jeffrey E. Garten
Dean Emeritus, Yale School of Management

Timothy F. Geithner
75th U.S. Secretary of the Treasury

Georgia Boyd Gosnell
Managing Member,
Mink Island Enterprises, LLC 

Evan G. Greenberg
Chairman and CEO, Chubb

Maurice R. Greenberg
Chairman and CEO, C.V. Starr & Co

In memory Andrew S. Grove
Senior Advisor to Executive Management, former Chairman of the Board, Founder, Intel

Morton I. Hamburg
Professional Photographer

Karen Hein, M.D.
Former President of the William T. Grant Foundation

Lucile P. Herbert
Volunteer, International Rescue Committee

George F. Hritz, Esq.
Kaplan, Fox & Kilsheimer LLP

Frederick Iseman
Chairman and CEO, CI Capital Partners

Aly S. Jeddy
Director, McKinsey & Company

Marvin Josephson
Founding Chairman,
ICM Holdings, Inc.


 Alton Kastner
Former Deputy Director, International Rescue Committee

M. Farooq Kathwari
Chairman, President and CEO, 
Ethan Allen Interiors, Inc.

Henry A. Kissinger
Former US Secretary of State; Chairman, Kissinger Associates

Yong Kwok

Reynold Levy
Former President, Lincoln Center

Winston Lord
Former U.S. Ambassador, China

Vincent A. Mai
Chairman and CEO, Cranemere, Inc.

Robert E. Marks
President and Chairman,
Marks Ventures, LLC

Roman Martinez IV
Former Managing Director, Lehman Brothers, Private Investor

Kati Marton
Author and Journalist

Jay Mazur
President Emeritus, UNITE!

David Miliband
President and CEO, International Rescue Committee

W. Allen Moore
Distinguished Fellow, The Henry Stimson Center

Kathleen Newland
Co-Founder and Director, Migration Policy Institute

Indra Nooyi
Chairman and CEO, PepsiCo

Sadako Ogata
President, Japan International Cooperation Agency

Sarah O’Hagan
Former Co-Chair, 
International Rescue Committee Board; Consultant

Susan Patricof

Scott Pelley
Anchor and Managing Editor, CBS Evening News and Correspondent, 60 Minutes 

David L. Phillips
Director of the Program on Peace-building and Rights at Columbia University’s Institute for the Study of Human Rights

General Colin L. Powell, USA (Retired)
Former US Secretary of State and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

Milbrey Rennie

Condoleezza Rice
Thomas and Barbara Stephenson Senior Fellow on Public Policy at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University

Andrew Robertson
President and Chief Executive Officer, 
BBDO Worldwide

Felix G. Rohatyn
Special Advisor to the Chairman and CEO
Lazard Freres

Gideon Rose
Editor, Foreign Affairs

George Rupp
Former President and CEO,
International Rescue Committee

George Sarlo
Managing Director, Walden Venture Capital

Tom Schick 
Fomer Co-Chair, International Rescue Committee Board

Dr. Rajiv Shah,
Founder and Managing Partner, Latitude Capital

James T. Sherwin
J.D.; Hon LLD; Director, Hunter Douglas N.V.

James C. Strickler, M.D.
Emeritus Professor Medicine and Community Medicine, Emeritus Dean, Dartmouth Medical School

Liv Ullmann

William J. vanden Heuvel
Chairman, the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute

Michael VanRooyen

Ronald J. Waldman, M.D.
Columbia University

Rhonda Weingarten
President, American Federation of Teachers

Josh Weston
Honorary Chairman of the Board and former CEO, ADP

Elie Wiesel
Professor Boston University, Nobel Laureate, Writer, Artist

Jonathan L. Wiesner
Owner and CEO, Sustainable Apparel Group, LLC

William T. Winters
CEO, Standard Chartered

James D. Wolfensohn
Chairman of Wolfensohn Co., LLC, Chairman of Citi International Advisory and Former President of the World Bank


IRC-UK Board of Directors