International Rescue Committee (IRC)

Congratulations to the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize winners

Congratulations to President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni journalist and activist Tawakul Karman. The three women have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for their work on women's rights.

"We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society," said the Nobel committee.

In 2006 the International Rescue Committee honored President Johnson Sirleaf with our Freedom Award  for extraordinary contributions to the cause of refugees and human freedom.

1 comment


Hail,,to liberia and our

Hail,,to liberia and our Great leader president ellen Johnson sirleaf for being awarded one of the Prestigious freedom award. it not just award but it God Blessed woman of our generation not yet born to bring peace once again to our christian land.when i heard that our president had won the nobel prize i was filled with joy. May,god blessed you to lead the people of this great country of ours Liberia. I hope one day to return home. i left 13 years ago. i think so much about liberia. morespecially my beloved Brother George Mckarr of harbel,firestone, liberia