Search form

About the IRC

John C. Whitehead Humanitarian Award

Last updated 

The John C. Whitehead Humanitarian Award was created in recognition of the half-century of transformational leadership and support that John dedicated to the International Rescue Committee (IRC). The Whitehead Award is presented each year at the IRC’s annual dinner to individuals whose sustained commitment embodies John’s spirit and passion for humanitarian causes, and who have made significant contributions to saving and improving lives around the world. Established in February 2015, the award honors the value of civic engagement and memorializes John Whitehead’s lifelong commitment to humanity through selfless, courageous, creative, and compassionate acts.


2015   Josh Weston 

2016  The Mack Family: Christy K. and John J. Mack; Jenna A. Mack; John C. Mack; Stephen K. Mack

2017  Liv Ullmann 

2018  Larry Fink 

2020  Judith and Russell Carson

2021 The Arnhold Family